Catch up post #1 – the Chocolate Shop

I am way behind in posting to my blog.  I had some things that I wanted to post about, but just have not had any time lately.  Anyway, enough excuses.  Here is catch up post #1.

I was in Winnipeg a week or so ago for work, but also combined the trip with a little sight seeing and catching up with some family members.  One of my colleagues, who is from the Winnipeg area, suggested that we head over to the Chocolate Shop.  What an experience!

The Chocolate Shop has had various incarnations, and apparently was the place to go when my Aunt was younger.  In its current incarnation, the Chocolate Shop is both a restaurant and a culinary arts school.  As it was told to me, the school was started by a former member of an Aboriginal youth gang who now works with marginalized young people.

I initially ordered the bison burger on bannock.  The waiter looked doubtful for a moment, and said “Well, you could have that…  but we’re out of buffalo, so it would be beef…  and I think we’re out of bannock, too…”  I ordered the enchilada special instead.  Not exactly traditional to the Cree people, but it was definitely good – and cheap to boot!

We were also treated to an impromptu performance by a champion hoop dancer who, according to my Aunt, might be from nearby Peguis First Nation.  How he did not knock furniture – or himself – over in that small space was beyond me!

Overall, the Chocolate Shop was quirky, but the food was great and the price was right.  On top of all that, the funds they raise get reinvested in their training program.  If you are in Winnipeg, I would definitely recommend checking it out.

Leave a Reply

