C’est le metro, boulot, dodo…

I learned that expression in my university French class, and it has always stuck with me.  Basically, it means “it’s the train, work, sleep”, and this expression perfectly captures the tedium that can settle in on daily life.  Maybe I need a vacation…

Anyway, I commute to work on the Skytrain, Vancouver’s much loved and much loathed rapid transit system.  One advantage over driving is that I am a much nicer person when I get to work.  The other is that I hate wasting time, and I find all kinds of ways to use the hour long ride each way.  Blogging is perfect for the commute!

In this category, my plan is to capture dispatches from the Skytrain – interesting happenings (when they occur), what’s going on along the route, etc…  Let’s see how much content I can come up with between point A and point B…

3337007492_21bf09de2a

Courtesy of rumble1973, licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License

2 Responses to “C’est le metro, boulot, dodo…”

  1. Rudy Giuliani Says:

    Looks like it would translate to “It’s the subway! Dodge the boulots you dodo!” Who sleeps on the train anyway? Crazy french.

    Carry a camera so you can post images of A to B.

    Rudy.

    • Duncan Says:

      Yes, “subway” is definitely a better translation, but you will have to work on your appreciation of French culture!

      I have thought about taking pictures on my commute, and just might do so. The only downsides are that (a) somebody might think I am trying to steal their soul; or, (b) the secret police might arrest me for being suspicious (for more on the latter, check out the recent CBC story).

      Cheers!


Leave a Reply

